Higher Education

The vision of the Higher Education Committee is to develop the Nebraska higher education institutions to be the premier talent developers for the current and future needs of the tech talent ecosystem across the state.

Retain students and graduates in Nebraska

Attract out of state students and retain them

Improve the collaboration between businesses and higher education

Provide support to the K-12 STEM pipeline that feeds into Nebraska higher education

Provide support to the internship pipeline that feeds into businesses

Coordinate with fellow NTC Committee leads to activate a collaborative strategy

Refocus the Higher Education Committee to develop and activate the tactics to complete their vision

Increase the number of students participating in technical skills training options available through providers throughout the state from universities and community colleges to nontraditional providers including reputable code schools and other short-term training programs.


Increase the number of business and higher education partnerships in collaboration with other NTC Committees to create more placement/tech career exposure opportunities for students.

To learn more about NSWERS, click here.  

Andrew Fausett, Central Community College
Andy Xydakis, Conagra Brands
Angie Stenger, Growing Together
Anthony Hendrickson, Creighton University
Art Brown, Metropolitan Community College
Austin Mohr, Nebraska Wesleyan University
Balaji Balasubramaniam, Central Community College
Bianca Harley, Greater Omaha Chamber of Commerce
Brett Thome, Spreetail
Brian Ardinger, Nelnet
Carrick Detweiler, University of Nebraska Lincoln
Chad Mares, Greater Omaha Chamber of Commerce
Chad Michel, Don’t Panic Labs
Chris Zimmers, First National Bank
Christina Oldfather, Lincoln Partnership for Economic Development
Dan Cronin, Fiserv
Dan Gordon, CQuence Health Group 
Dan Houghton, Buildertrend
David Brown, Greater Omaha Chamber of Commerce
Deepak Khazanchi, University of Nebraska Omaha
Doug Durham, Don’t Panic Labs
Dusty Davidson, Flywheel
Elizabeth Whited, Union Pacific
Emily Olinger, Spreetail
Frank Shimerdla, A & O Grants
Graciela Caneiro, Nebraska Wesleyan University 
Hank Robinson, University of Nebraska Omaha
Harnoor Singh, University of Nebraska Omaha
Howard Daubert, Physicians Mutual
Jake Messersmith, University of Nebraska Lincoln
Jack Schmitt, Spreetail
James Blackledge, Mutual of Omaha
Jamie Logue, Central Community College
Jennifer Ryan, University of Nebraska Lincoln
Jim Creigh – Kutak Rock
Joe Petsick, Proxibid/ University of Nebraska Lincoln 
Justine O’Neil-Hedlund, CQuence Health Group
Kandace Miller, AIM Institute
Kyle Murphy, Hudl
Levi Thiele, AIM Institute
Matt Spyers, First National Bank
Michael Medrano, ScoreVision
Mike Cassling, CQuence Health Group
Mike Dunlap, Nelnet
Mike Lechtenberger, Mutual of Omaha
Mindy Simon, Conagra
Randy Schmailzl, Metropolitan Community College
Roger Kassebaum, ExseedU Inc.
Ronnie Green, University of Nebraska Lincoln
Ryan Cameron, Ivy.AI
Ryan Wade, Lutz
Sarah Moylan, Greater Omaha Chamber of Commerce
Shonna Dorsey, Mutual of Omaha
Steve Wagner, Northeast Community College
Susan Kruml, Midland University
Suzette Person, University of Nebraska Lincoln
Todd Conkright, Midland University
Tom Chapman, Chapman & Company